Entries by ajgz5

U.S. 17 Bypass Opens to Traffic Several Months Ahead of Schedule

POLLOCKSVILLE – A heavily traveled bypass in Jones County opened to drivers Thursday more than eight months ahead of schedule. The U.S. 17 Bypass, which shortens the trip between Jacksonville and New Bern, opened to the first vehicles at 1 p.m. Thursday after the N.C. Department of Transportation hosted a ribbon cutting earlier in the day.>>READ MORE

U.S. 17 Bypass opens today; SW Greenville Bypass next week

JONES COUNTY, NC (WITN) – One major highway in Eastern Carolina is opening Thursday while another will be finished next week. The North Carolina Department of Transportation says the new U.S. 17 Bypass in Jones County will have a ribbon-cutting at 11 a.m. Thursday. The 16.3-mile highway starts just below Belgade in Onslow County and connects […]

Most lanes to open on new U.S. 17 bypass in Jones, Onslow Counties

MAYSVILLE, Jones County — The N.C. Department of Transportation will open three of the four final lanes on the new U.S. 17 Bypass in Jones and Onslow counties this week. Early Thursday afternoon, NCDOT will open three lanes of the new U.S. 17 Bypass between Deppe Loop Road and N.C. 58 in Pollocksville. There will be […]

Another section of the U.S. 17 Bypass has opened

CRAVEN COUNTY, NC (WITN) – Department of Transportation crews opened a 2.5 Mile stretch of the new highway between Maysville and Pollocksville. The entire bypass is expected to be completed next year.It will include a four-lane divided road that will connect U.S..17 North of Spring Hill Road in Onslow County and then reconnect to the U.S. […]

U.S. 17 Bypass in Craven County closing for three months

CRAVEN COUNTY, N.C. (WITN) – A bypass connecting 2 major highways will close on Tuesday for 3 months, after officials say rain delayed it being closed Monday. Drivers who used to travel on the the highway 17 bypass in Craven county will be rerouted to take highway 17 Business through New Bern, and several drivers say […]

New Members Take Seats on N.C. Board of Transportation

WILMINGTON – Two new members joined the N.C. Board of Transportation during the board’s monthly meeting in Wilmington Thursday, and three board members moved into new assignments. Gov. Roy Cooper earlier this month nominated Thomas Taft Jr. of Greenville and Michael Alford of Jacksonville as new board members. He also nominated three current members to […]

, ,

Contract Awarded for U.S. 17 Business Improvements in Perquimans County

Hertford’s 90-year-old “S-Bridge” to be replaced February 2, 2018 | RALEIGH – The N.C. Department of Transportation has awarded a $57 million contract to replace the Perquimans River Bridge in Hertford and make safety improvements on a stretch of U.S. Highway 17 Business between Hertford and Winfall. The contract, awarded to a design-build team led […]