The Highway 17/64 Association


It is the mission of the Highway 17/64 Association to support and advance transportation projects and programs along the US 17 corridor from South Carolina to Virginia and along the US 64 corridor from Raleigh to Manteo. As part of that effort, the Highway 17/64 Association will advocate for the timely funding and construction of the Raleigh to Norfolk interstate highway that will track US 64 from Raleigh to Williamston and US 17 from Williamston to Hampton Roads.


January 23, 2019   Washington

April 23, 2019   New Bern

June 26, 2019   Rocky Mount

September 25, 2019   Jacksonville

January 22, 2020   Location TBD

The Highway 17/64 Association will accomplish its mission by:

  • Partnering with federal, state, regional and local stakeholders who share an interest in the timely completion of a controlled access, four-lane US 17 from South Carolina to Virginia and a controlled access four-lane US 64 from Raleigh to Manteo.
  • Partnering with federal, state, regional and local stakeholders who share an interest in the timely completion of an interstate highway between Raleigh and Norfolk.
  • Engaging with NCDOT, MPOs and RPOs across eastern North Carolina, to understand the connectivity and value of all modes of transportation important to the region, including: highways, rail, ports, ferries and inlets.
  • Understanding how state transportation policy and funding in North Carolina impact eastern North Carolina and advocating for positive change for the benefit of the region.
  • Being truly regional in vision and scope and not advancing one local project at the expense of another.
  • Helping NCDOT solve problems in planning, design, permitting, utilities, right-of-way acquisition and construction, in order to advance projects.
  • Anticipating and resolving local issues and concerns, and facilitating solutions where local conflicts exist.

Board of Directors

Brian Alligood, Treasurer

Jay Bender, President

Sabrina Bengel

Steve Biggs, Vice President

David B. Bone

Gloristine Brown

Jeff Dixon

Eric Evans

Catherine Grimm

Tyler Harris

Franky Howard

Libby Jenkins

Martyn B. Johnson

John Kirkland

Anne-Marie Knighton

Zee Lamb

Troy R. Lewis

Tom Mark

Bob Mattocks

Doug Mercer

Dan Murphy

John O’Daniel

Sheila Pierce

Zoph Potts

Jonathan Russell

Rochelle D. Small-Toney

Joe Thomas

Jack B. Veit, III

Steve Wangerin

Frankie Waters

Joyce Whichard-Brown


Contact Us

Questions or Comments?

Email: Executive Director | Administrative Assistant
Phone: 252.514.2748
PO Box 1673
New Bern, NC 28563